Review- Sail by James Patterson and Howard Roughan


Title: Sail

Sail
Genre: Thriller
Author: James Patterson and Howard Roughan
Publisher: Little, Brown & Co., 2008
Source: Library
Rating: 3
Sexy Rating: 4
Description from amazon.com:
Since the death of her husband, Anne Dunne and her three children have struggled in every way. In a last ditch effort to save the family, Anne plans an elaborate sailing vacation to bring everyone together once again. But only an hour out of port, everything is going wrong. The teenage daughter, Carrie, is planning to drown herself. The teenage son, Mark, is high on drugs and ten-year-old Ernie is nearly catatonic. This is the worst vacation ever.
Anne manages to pull things together bit by bit, but just as they begin feeling like a family again, something catastrophic happens. Survival may be the least of their concerns.

**
Did it keep me turning pages? You bet. Was it a good beach read? Yes. Do I recommend it? Well maybe. It was a pretty good read. I liked the two or three page chapters that bounced around to the different characters. Some were written in first person and some in third which did help to keep things straight. I liked that it had some surprises along the way but nothing was too surprising. Some things just astounded me. Such as Anne’s compound fracture being set with Marijuana as the sedative and how she was still so alert even with a raging fever. That was just one example I don’t want to say more for fear of mentioning spoilers. If you want a quick, easy read for the beach then this one will do.

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Thriller

2 responses to “Review- Sail by James Patterson and Howard Roughan

  1. I’ve never read any of James Patterson’s books but my son is a great fan. We bought him a lot of Patterson books for Christmas. I do like Michael Connelly’s books and often read one when I feel I need a break from the romance world.

    Like

    • I’ve only read two Patterson’s and probably only one or two Connelly’s. Harlan Cobin is my go-to guy for a change of pace. But I just discovered local author Randy Wayne White and his Doc Ford series so I’ll be reading more of his books.(review Monday, 2/18/13)

      Like

Leave a Reply

