Review- The Proposal by Mary Balogh


Title: The Proposal

(book#1, The Survivor’s Club Series)

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Mary Balogh

Publisher: Random House, May 1, 2012

Available for preorder

Source: Free for review from Amazon Vine Program

Rating:  4

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

Gwendoline, Lady Muir, has seen her share of tragedy, especially since a freak accident took her husband much too soon. Content in a quiet life with friends and family, the young widow has no desire to marry again. But when Hugo, Lord Trentham, scoops her up in his arms after a fall, she feels a sensation that both shocks and emboldens her.

Hugo never intends to kiss Lady Muir, and frankly, he judges her to be a spoiled, frivolous—if beautiful—aristocrat. He is a gentleman in name only: a soldier whose bravery earned him a title; a merchant’s son who inherited his wealth. He is happiest when working the land, but duty and title now demand that he finds a wife. He doesn’t wish to court Lady Muir, nor have any role in the society games her kind thrives upon. Yet Hugo has never craved a woman more; Gwen’s guileless manner, infectious laugh, and lovely face have ruined him for any other woman. He wants her, but will she have him?

The hard, dour ex-military officer who so gently carried Gwen to safety is a man who needs a lesson in winning a woman’s heart. Despite her cautious nature, Gwen cannot ignore the attraction. As their two vastly different worlds come together, both will be challenged in unforeseen ways. But through courtship and seduction, Gwen soon finds that with each kiss, and with every caress, she cannot resist Hugo’s devotion, his desire, his love, and the promise of forever.

**

Mary Balogh writes lyrical romances; this one hums with a somber musicality.  These two people, Gwen and Hugo, have tortured pasts that continue to impinge on their present.  It is a story of guilt and redemption and love.  It is about reaching across social barriers to embrace a life worth living, and it is told beautifully.

I didn’t always like Hugo.  He was often so wrapped up in his guilt that I just wanted him to snap out of it.  I also thought that Gwen should have taken more responsibility for the loss of her child.  But those negatives never lessened the desire for them both to heal and find love.

3 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Historical Romance, Romance

3 responses to “Review- The Proposal by Mary Balogh

  1. mo

    I do enjoy Mary Balogh. I think i’ve nearly read her whole backlist, maybe only a few more to go. Some are better than others but I have enjoyed all of them. They’re light and simple and perfect for when you want an assured HEA. I will be looking for this one.

    I just finished Tessa Dare’s A Week to be Wicked. I loved it! I really liked that Colin, the hero, was not scared to admit his feelings. And Minerva was a great bluestocking heroine. I cannot wait for Thorne and Kate’s book, it sounds great.

    Like

    • Hi Mo, I think I’ve read many, if not most of Balogh’s novels. I agree, some are better than others.
      Thanks for the heads-up on the new Tessa Dare book. I think I’m going to have to spend the bucks and get this one. I stuck it on my wish list until I figure out how many “TBR’s” I feel I must get through first.

      Like

  2. Pingback: New Release Review- The Arrangement By Mary Balogh | La Deetda Reads

Leave a Reply

