Review- Not Quite a Lady by Loretta Chase


Title:  Not Quite A Lady

(#4 in the Carsington Brothers Series)

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Loretta Chase

Publisher: Avon, 2007

Source: purchase

Rating: 4-good read

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

Irresistible Force

Darius Carsington is a spectacularly handsome rake with a rare intelligence and no heart, a man who divides his time between bedding loose-moraled women and writing scholarly papers. He finds society’s “perfect darlings” exceedingly boring. But there’s something intriguing, and not quite perfect, about faultless Lady Charlotte Hayward. He senses a crack under her polished surface, and finding it is a challenge he can’t resist.

Immovable Object

Lady Charlotte is so beautiful, charming, and gracious that no one has noticed what an expert she is at Not Getting Married. Early on, she learned a painful lesson about trust . . . and temptation. In the years since, she’s devoted her life to being all she ought to be—and she’s not about to let a man like Carsington entice her to do everything she shouldn’t.

A Splendid Collision

But the rules of attraction can easily overpower the rules of manners and morals, and sometimes even the best-behaved girl has to follow her instincts, even if it means risking it all.

**

This is a series that does not need to be read in order.  This offering is luscious, and full of romance and a shameful secret that could ruin lives.  It is wonderful how a consumate wordsmith like Loretta Chase can make us sigh with the romance and clutch with the fear of our heroine’s secret coming out.  All HR fans will love this offering in the series.  I can’t wait to read more.  I highly recommend this author for her wonderful Historical Romances.

You can find my review ofLoretta Chase’s second novel in this series, Mr. Impossible, click here.

The Carsington Brothers Series:

1.  Miss Wonderful

2.  Mr Impossible

3.  Lord Perfect

4.  Not Quite a Lady

5.  Last Night’s Scandal

5 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Historical Romance

5 responses to “Review- Not Quite a Lady by Loretta Chase

  1. Edyta

    I read a couple of her books and really liked them. I think I might have this one. I’ll have to check. I just started reading Game of Thrones. Sooooo good. I loved the show and decided to “catch up” on the books. Glad I started from the beginning though; a lot of back story that just wasn’t covered in the show. I am glad that they didn’t cast actors according to ages in the books. Yikes, everyone is 13-15. I didn’t think it was possible for me to love Jon, but he’s even more broody.

    Like

    • I have no desire to read G of T. I love the show so much that if I read the books it might make me hate the show. (Its happened before)

      I’m really impressed with MJ Putney. She makes her characters very real.

      Like

  2. mo

    I read and enjoyed Lord Perfect and her well-known Lord of Scoundrels (?).

    I was given the first four books of the Martin series, but goodness are they daunting. They’re each like mini encyclopaedia. I know I should start them but i am on a HR binge at the moment, with a side of YA ;).

    Like

    • Hm-m, I think if I got the G.R.R. Martin books handed to me I might be tempted but then again the size of the books is daunting. No, I’ll stick with the masses and watch HBO. 🙂

      Like

      • Edyta

        They had a good Kindle deal for Can. customers a while back so I got the first 4 GRRM books like that. GoT is really good. I’m reading it even though I watched the 1st season (my fav show currently) as I felt lost jumping into book 2. I see why these books are so popular. You are right Mo they are huge.

        I liked Chase’s LoS, as well. She’s a good HR author.

        Like

Leave a Reply

