Review- A Rake’s Vow by Stephanie Laurens


Title:  A Rake’s Vow (Bk 2, Cynster Series)

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Stephanie Laurens

Publisher: Avon, 1998

Source: purchase

Rating: 3.5

Sexy Rating: 5+

Description from amazon.com:

He vowed he′d never marry.

To Vane Cynster, Bellamy Hall seems like the perfect place to temporarily hide from London′s husband hunters. But when he encounters irresistible Patience Debbington, Vane realizes he′s met his match …

She vowed no man would catch her.

Patience isn′t about to succumb to Vane′s sensuous propositions. Yes, his kisses leave her dizzy and his caresses made her melt; but Patience has promised herself she′ll never become vulnerable to a broken heart. Is this one vow that was meant to be broken?

**

I am fairly new to this series that has been around for years.  So when I read the first book in the Cynster Series, DEVIL’S BRIDE, and loved it (reviewed here), I knew I would have to read more.  But I didn’t expect book number two to be so much like book number one.  It isn’t like I disliked it, not at all, it is very well written but it was like the author used a template from the first book and entered different characters and scenes.  The mystery does seem to go on for an interminable amount of time and it was pretty easy to figure out early-on.  I actually was hoping for some eye opening twist.  There is lots of sex which seems to be the hallmark of this series.  Not complaining, mind you, just saying there is lots.  The hero, Vane Cynster, is certainly everything I like in a hero, strong, handsome, caring, protective, sexy, etc.  The heroine, Patience, was a bit one dimensional and I had trouble understanding why Vane fell so hard, so fast.  But I’ll allow that it was just one of those chemistry things.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Historical Romance, Romance, sexy

2 responses to “Review- A Rake’s Vow by Stephanie Laurens

  1. mo

    I’ve read book 1 and 5 (a secret love). I tried reading this one but couldn’t get into because of the heroine and it was a bit slow (gosh I am harsh! I realise I have no issues in dropping a book if it doesn’t interest me. I wasn’t always like this :)) A Secret Love I really enjoyed, even though it required suspension of rational thought and had a bit of a whacky end.

    I’m reading Thief of Shadows at the moment. It is soooo good. Winter is such a great hero. I had a problem with their names in the begining, but the excellent writing has just made them seem normal. Four books into the series and every single one of them has been excellent. That is rare.

    Like

    • I love the Hoyt’ Maiden Lane Series. I have another Cynster Series review up next Wednesday. I think I’ll take a break from Cynsters and read another M.J. Putnam.
      (I looked for A SECRET LOVE at the book sale to no avail. I’ll have to check out the library or used book store.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

