Review- Forever and A Day by Jill Shalvis


Title: Forever and a Day( Book #6, Lucky Harbor Series)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Author: Jill Shalvis

Publisher: Grand Central, 2012

Source: purchase

Rating: 4

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

LOVE CAN HAPPEN IN A HEARTBEAT
Grace never thought she’d be starting her life over from scratch. Losing everything has landed her in Lucky Harbor, working as a dog walker for overwhelmed ER doctor Josh Scott. But the day his nanny fails to show up, Grace goes from caring for Josh’s lovable mutt to caring for his rambunctious son. Soon Grace is playing house with the sexy single dad . . .
With so many people depending on him, Josh has no time for anything outside of his clinic and family-until Grace arrives in town. Now this brainy blonde is turning his life inside out and giving a whole new meaning to the phrase “good bedside manner.” Josh and Grace don’t know if what they have can last. But in a town like Lucky Harbor, a lifetime of love starts with just one day . .

**

First some back story on how I came to read this book.  Like you, I subscribe to several bloggers who give me great reading suggestions.  Two of those bloggers absolutely raved about this book.  I really respect their opinions so I immediately bought it from Amazon for my Kindle.  That was yesterday, I finished it in one sitting.

I’m new to Jill Shalvis, this is my first book of hers, it won’t be my last.  Now I’m compelled to start at the beginning with this series to learn all about those quirky characters that inhabit Lucky  Harbor.

Can pheromones portend true love?  Yes, yes they can when the chemistry between Grace and the good doctor is sending off sparks the first time they meet and it just doesn’t fizzle out.  This is one steamy hot novel.  It is also about loyalty, responsibility, destiny and finding true happiness.

If you are looking for an easy, uplifting, often humorous contemporary romance then look no further.  This is a great one to take to the beach this August.

Oh BTW, Those fab bloggers I mentioned earlier would love it if you checked them out. 

Julie at: http://yummymenandkickasschicks.com/

Tori at:  http://torimacallister.wordpress.com/

7 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Contemporary Romance, Review, Romance

7 responses to “Review- Forever and A Day by Jill Shalvis

  1. Edyta

    I have a couple of her titles, but I find I read CR rarely. This genre is VERY much riddled with bad books (IMO). I’m not sure which particular title I have but I’ll pick her book next time I feel like CR. See, you are my blogger I trust.

    Speaking of, I finished the second Maiden Lane book. While I didn’t love it as much as the first it was still a fantastic read (minus a bit cheesy ending). I think I will read on of my UFs and then on to #3 (unless I decide to just read Silence’s book right away)

    Like

    • As you know, Edyta, I don’t read much CR. I do read when I get a rec’ from a respected blogger, or fellow reader. I’m still wrapped tight in the HR genre but keep trying to branch out. I used to be all about PNR and UF. Funny how things change. Right now I’m trying to find the perfect Time Travel novel. (other than OUTLANDER). Gwen Cready is heading my list so far but I’m still on a quest. I’ve yet to read Hoyt’s book #4 about Winter.

      Like

      • mo

        Dot, shouldn’t we be saying ‘told you so, Edyta’ 😉 all that snark about character names 🙂 .

        Re time travel, I fully recommend Susanna Kearsley’s The Winter Sea (time travel elements) and The Rose Garden (actual time travel). Both great books. Also Linda Howard’s Son of the Morning is meant to be good.

        Like

        • On some reply-comment to Edyta I couldn’t resist the “toldyaso” 🙂

          I just read a good time travel, I’ll review it shortly, but it is currently FREE on Kindle so go pick it up if you are interested. OUT OF TIME: A TIME TRAVEL MYSTERY by Monique Martin.

          I have to see if I can get the Kearsley book from the library. I read the Howard book and liked it. I’ll put The Rose Garden on my list. Thanks!

          Like

  2. Edyta

    Have you looked into Susan Squires? I remember her being mentioned back on Rebecca’s blog when we had the bookclub (it was during the TT month). Now sure which direction this TT is in. Outlander probably spoiled us for any other TT but if you find something good, I’d love to try it.

    Like

    • I just mentioned a TT to Mo (above in reply) that I finished last night that I think you would like. It has an evil bad vampire and romance.

      Susan Squires sounds familiar but I don’t think I’ve read her. I’ll check her out.

      Like

  3. Edyta

    Yes you were both right and I am thankfull for the push you both gave me to read these :D.

    I’ve not read Squires either, but had her name on my list of authors to look into. If you do read her (or find a different TT that’s good) I’ll be very interested. Got the book you just mentioned. Can’t beat that price!

    Like

Leave a Reply

