Review- The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley


Title: The Winter Sea

Genre:  Historical Fiction/Romance

Author: Susanna Kearsley

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark, 2011

Source: purchase

Rating: 4.5

Sexy Rating: 5 (behind closed doors)

Description from amazon.com:

History has all but forgotten…In the spring of 1708, an invading Jacobite fleet of French and Scottish soldiers nearly succeeded in landing the exiled James Stewart in Scotland to reclaim his crown.

Now, Carrie McClelland hopes to turn that story into her next bestselling novel. Settling herself in the shadow of Slains Castle, she creates a heroine named for one of her own ancestors and starts to write.

But when she discovers her novel is more fact than fiction, Carrie wonders if she might be dealing with ancestral memory, making her the only living person who knows the truth-the ultimate betrayal-that happened all those years ago, and that knowledge comes very close to destroying her…

**

I have to thank blog reader and commenter, Edyta, for recommending this book.

This is a duel story of both, Carrie, the present day author in the story, and her ancestor Sophia.  The narration goes from chapters in the present to chapters of the past.  Kearsley once again weaves a stunning romance while bringing to life the Jacobite rebellion in Scotland.  The book is so well written that it often felt like I was reading a true account. It is a long book 527 pages but I became so engrossed that I hardly noticed.  There is action, adventure, moments of pathos, romance and redemption.

Kearsley researches her story so well that the setting is brought to life.  For Slains Castle is a real place and did play a pivotal role in the rebellion of 1708.  Here is a look at Slains Castle as it appears today.

If I have any negative remarks it is that I would have liked a bit more of Carrie’s romance and story.

11 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Historical Romance, History, Review, Romance

11 responses to “Review- The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

  1. I’ve been contemplating reading this. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

  2. Welcome, Book wheel, Glad I could help.

    Like

  3. I apologise blog readers, I do know the difference between the word “duel” and “dual”. My mind must have been on some grassy expanse with two regency guys facing off at each other when I wrote this post.

    Like

  4. Edyta

    Thanks for the pics Dot. I didn’t look them up when I read this one (lazy me). They make me want to go back to Scotland. I’m glad you enjoyed this one.

    Like

  5. mo

    Loved this book. I too would have loved more of Carrie’s romance, but still, I’m amazed at how well Kearsley developed her modern day characters. The past took up most of the book time.

    Like

  6. Edyta

    Scotland rocks, you need to go asap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

