Review- America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook


Title: America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook

Genre: Cookbook

Author: Editors at America’s Test Kitchen

Publisher: same

Source: Free for Review from the Amazon Vine Program

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: LOL Not applicable unless you like a divider pic of Christopher Kimball

 

You all know I cook, maybe not very well but often.  When I had the chance to review this cookbook I thought “Why not, I like the ATK’s TV show and I’ve enjoyed their Cook’s Illustrated Magazine”.  I really thought I would get a useful book for reading but probably I wouldn’t make many recipes. I have never been more wrong.  The recipes can be made in under 45 minutes and some in under 25 minutes.  They use easily found supermarket ingredients, even in the Asian and Indian recipes.  The appendix contains recommendations for the best brands to buy in every category from canned goods to meats to dairy products.  There are how-to’s on Veggie prepping, knife holding and recommended kitchen equipment to purchase. There are tips with each recipe. I have made several recipes and they have all been delicious and quick just as promised. AND it is in a lay-flat 5 ring binderwith 442 pages.  This is my new go-to cookbook.  This cookbook would be an ideal bridal shower gift or bachelor/bachelorette first apartment gift. It is also ideal for the harried modern family who needs a meal on the table pronto.

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Food

2 responses to “Review- America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook

  1. Edyta

    How is this book for vegetarian recipes? I am interested in any cook book that offers some selection meat free food with ingredients I can find in a regular store. I have a couple of vegan books but I have to say I don’t have time to even figure out where to find some of the items they mention.

    Like

    • It has a Vegetarian section but I wouldn’t recommend the book for it. Too few recipes in that catagory to justify the cost of the book. They seem to use alot of tofu and vegetarian “crumbles” in the recipes they do have.

      Like

Leave a Reply

