Review- My Last Empress by Da Chen


Title: My Last Empress

My Last Empress

Genre: General Fiction

Author: Da Chen

 

Source: Free for review from Amazon Vine Program

Rating: 3

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

When Samuel Pickens’ great love tragically loses her life, Samuel travels the globe, Annabelle always on his mind. Eventually, he comes face to face with the mirror image of his obsession in the last place he would expect, and must discover her secrets and decide how far he will go for a woman he loves.
Da Chen immerses the reader in the world of the Chinese imperial palace, filled with ghosts and grief, where bewitching concubines, treacherous eunuchs, and fierce warlords battle for supremacy. Da takes us deeply into an epic saga of 19th century China, where one man searches for his destiny and a forbidden love.

**

This is not the type of book I usually seek out, but Da Chen is a local author and I was curious.  In the beginning pages I thought I would probably not be able to finish this novel.  There were so many euphemisms for genitalia and sex that it was almost laughable.  But I went on and although the subject matter concerning a young teenager smacked of pedophilia I found the story of 19th century china and it’s sensibility, or lack of, fascinating.

It was an okay read for me.  The prose was often poetic and the obsessive madness of the protagonist, Sam Pickens, was well written.

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Romance

2 responses to “Review- My Last Empress by Da Chen

  1. I don’t think this would be my sort of book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

