Non-Review: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris


Title: Dead Ever After

Dead Ever After

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Author:  Charlaine Harris

Publisher: ACE, Berkley Publishing Group, 2013

Source: purchase

My non-review Rating: 2

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

THE FINAL SOOKIE STACKHOUSE NOVEL

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart….

Sookie Stackhouse  finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.
But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…

**

This is a non-review.

“Huh?” You say.

I can’t review a book I have not read all the way through.  I read this book, chapters 1-6, but I was so bored that I skipped to chapters 21&22 (the last two chapters)to continue the boredom.  I have to confess that I haven’t been much onboard with this series since around book 6 or maybe book 7 but I have continued to read each one hoping that the next will be the one to get the story back on track, it never happened for me. (I watch Trueblood hoping for the same thing and each season since the first I’ve been disappointed.)

I agree with some reviews that say Charlaine Harris has every right to end the story the way she wants.  I also think the readers have every right to say that they feel like they have been insulted by the way she has gone about her ending.

I rated this book a “2- OMG! Did I pay for this?” and yes, I coughed up $18.00 at Target to buy this disappointment. So I guess this non-review is a review since I’ve given my $.02 worth of opinion.  I will welcome your $.02 worth of opinion in the comments.

9 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Paranormal Romance, Review

9 responses to “Non-Review: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

  1. mo

    Well, i haven’t read the last 3? because i felt they lost their spark. I think this series suffered from being turned in to a TV series. The popularity lead to publishers wanting to milk it. I have no issue with the way Harris finished it. I kind of guessed it a while back. It’s just anticlimactic. I will not be spending my money on this book.

    I recommend Harris’ other series. IMO they are much stronger than this one.

    Like

  2. Completely agree with you Dot. I stopped reading the series, I think at the tenth book. I liked it but it was getting boring and then I stopped reading altogether. I figured I would pick it up again once the series was finished but now I’m not sure. Probably will finish it, but I will take my time on getting the books. I like to finish a series I start even if I have to speed read really fast.

    Like

  3. Edyta

    As I said the backlash is funny, but I get why people are mad. What made me kinda mad is the blog post MJ Davidson had about this. She is so rude toward fans in it. Won’t be reading any of her books for sure. She calls the origianal person who posted the ending, in a twitter conversation with her friend or something like that, an asshat. Here is the link:
    http://maryjanicedavidson.blogspot.ca/2013/04/the-bullying-of-charlaine-harris-and.html

    Like

    • mo

      Edyta, i couldn’t even read that post. It was cringeworthy! Honestly, i think Harris has reacted better to this than her so-called defenders. They are certainly not helping her in any way.

      Like

  4. Mo, Gayle, Edyta- I read the MJD blog defense and tend to agree that it was too over the top. She did have a point about early sales spoiling a book’s “bestseller list entry”.(this does not apply to booksellers’ pre-order offerings. When pre-orders are made the sale is not made until the release date.) I’m pretty much regulated by the publishers I get free copies from. I have to promise not to review on the blog before certain dates. This is okay with me, they use me for their purpose and I use them for mine. I try to keep spoilers out of my ramblings on the blog and in my Amazon reviews. Once in awhile I’m sure I mess up with minor spoilers but I’d never out the ending to a book. It is just this type of DEAD AFTER DARK controversy that propels the book to bestseller status anyway. I wonder what the next “OMG!” moment will be?

    Like

  5. Edyta

    Dot, I know it sucks that early sales don’t “count”, I also think that some people probably didn’t buy the book based of the spoiler…however it is not ok to berate someone, anyone like that. Doing it to a customer, as in the end that’s what readers are, is inexcusable. Also how ironic is it that rude, and belittling post she’s accusing other fans of harassing CH. I find the whole thing a bit distasteful. Plus if there is a book I want and I find it in a store before the release date – I’m buying it. The fact that this book seems to be poorly written and boring makes my decision easy.

    Like

    • Once I did find a book at the Supermarket before the release date and I did buy it. And, yup, I’d do it again. No, it is not okay to berate anyone, author, customer, reader, reviewer, spoiler, child, Grandma, well you get my drift. why some people think their words are the be all and end all I have no idea. But it’s the old thing where people start believing their own press. Because they have been elevated by their own fans or perhaps in this case their own sales numbers, they feel they are “Entitled”. Entitled to become arrogant and obnoxious because their toadies will bow and scrape for their pearls of “wisdom”.
      Just like I expect a bit of bowing and scraping every now and then,, thank you . Only kidding, bowing and scraping is really not my heart’s desire. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

