Review- The Reluctant Marquess by Maggi Andersen


Title: The Reluctant Marquess

The Reluctant Marquess

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Maggi Andersen

Publisher: Knox Robinson, 2012

Source:  Kindle purchase free, currently $1.69 for paperback, $5.99 Kindle(not a misprint, those are the prices)

Rating: 4

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

Charity Barlow wished to marry for love. She and Lord Robert have been forced by circumstances to marry, and she feels sure she is not the woman he would have selected given a choice. The Marquess of St. Malin makes it plain to her that their marriage is merely for the procreation of an heir, and once that is achieved, he intends to continue living the life he enjoyed before he met her. While he takes up his life in London once more, Charity is left to wander the echoing corridors of St. Malin House, when she isnt thrown into the midst of the mocking Haute Ton. Charity is not at all sure she likes her new social equals, and shes not at all sure she likes her new husband either, except for his striking appearance, which sends her pulses racing. Lord Robert is a rake and does not deserve her love, but neither does she wish to live alone. Might he be suffering from a sad past?

**

I confess, I’m addicted to free Kindle books.  There are many added each day and I download at least one a day, sometimes more.  Of course, I have not read them all.  They just stack up in my Kindle but my Kindle holds over 3,000 books so I’m still good to go.

Anyway…. I downloaded this book against my better judgment.  I saw that it had more 3 star reviews (meaning it was “okay”) on Amazon than 4 or 5 star reviews.  Hm-m-m, I thought maybe I don’t want to waste my time with a book that is mostly “okay”, even if it is free for today.  As you can see from my rating, this book was better than okay.  It was a good read.  So don’t always believe all those ratings, if it looks like a book you might enjoy,  give it a chance.

This book was well written, characters were well developed.  The plot was interesting and I felt like there was a good deal of historical accuracy.  It was compelling to see how the author turned these two people, in an arranged marriage, and brought them to the point of a loving marriage.  It was romance with all of the ups and downs and believable problems that these two individuals had to deal.  Maggi Andersen is an author to watch.

1 Comment

Filed under Book review, Books, Historical Romance, Kindle

One response to “Review- The Reluctant Marquess by Maggi Andersen

  1. I have this freebie on my Kindle as well. It’s good to know that it’s worth reading. Thanks, Dot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

