Tessa Dare Week:Review- A Lady By Midnight


Title:  A Lady By Midnight (Spindle Cove, Book #3)

A Lady by Midnight

Genre:  Historical Romance

Author:  Tessa Dare

Publisher: Avon, 2012

Source: Kindle Purchase $.99

Rating: 4

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from Author’s website:

After years of fending for herself, Kate Taylor found friendship and acceptance in Spindle Cove–but she never stopped yearning for love. The very last place she’d look for it is in the arms of Corporal Thorne. The militia commander is as stone cold as he is brutally handsome. But when mysterious strangers come searching for Kate, Thorne steps forward as her fiance. He claims to have only Kate’s safety in mind. So why is there smoldering passion in his kiss?

Long ago, Samuel Thorne devoted his life to guarding Kate’s happiness. He wants what’s best for her, and he knows it’s not marriage to a man like him. To outlast their temporary engagement, he must keep his hands off her tempting body and lock her warm smiles out of his withered heart. It’s the toughest battle of this hardened warrior’s life…and the first he seems destined to lose.

**

Tessa Dare has another Spindle Cove Series novel being published tomorrow, May 28,2013, ANY DUCHESS WILL DO.  A LADY BY MIDNIGHT, is the full length novel that precedes along with the novella, BEAUTY AND THE BLACKSMITH, which I will review on Friday of this week. All novels in this series are stand-alone but they are all delightful so don’t miss any.

Tessa Dare can write dialog better than most.  She is witty and light hearted with her characters.  She creates a place that is fairytale happy and we all want to travel back in time to holiday at Spindle Cove.  Most of the mishaps are of the silly sort and we know that somehow Kate will convince Thorne that they are meant to be together in spite of the not so terrible lies of omission.  This is classic Tessa Dare, sweet, lovely and so hot the pages scorch.

Tessa can write lovely romantic dialog, too:

“I don’t know what is between us, but I know I’ve hungered for it all my life.  Maybe other women could walk away, but not me.  Never me.”

Tessa Dare Week at La Deetda Reads:

Monday A LADY BY MIDNIGHT A Lady by Midnight

Tuesday- Release Day- ANY DUCHESS WILL DO ANY-DUCHESS-WILL-DO-1

WednesdayTHE SCANDELOUS, DISSOLUTE, NO GOOD, MR WRIGHTThe Scandelous, Desolute no good Mr WrightFridayBEAUTY AND THE BLACKSMITHBEAUTY-AND-THE-BLACKSMITH-cover

 

2 Comments

Filed under Authors, Book review, Books, Historical Romance, Romance

2 responses to “Tessa Dare Week:Review- A Lady By Midnight

  1. Lovely review, Dot! I adore coming back to Spindle Cove. It’s like meeting up with old friends every time. I will have my hot hands on my iPad tomorrow morning (Tuesday) ready to read ANY DUCHESS WILL DO. I can’t wait for this pairing of a duke and a barmaid with the Pygmalion themed story. On her Goodreads thread, Tessa has dropped hints that there are some pretty HOT scenes in this one! No complaints here. LOL!

    Like

    • I preordered the book for my Kindle. I will read it as soon as it comes in. I usually don’t read excerpts but I did for this new one and it hooked me right away. Tessa contacted me and said she might stop in this week. That would be fun. Her writing has a combination of witty humor and well done sexy scenes. These in the same book are a must-buy for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

