Review- Untie My Heart by Judith Ivory


Title:  Untie My Heart

Untie My Heart

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Judith Ivory

Publisher: Avon, 2002

Source:  purchase

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from amazon.com:

Stuart Aysgarth, the new Viscount Mount Villiars, doesn’t know he’s playing with fire when he inadvertently runs afoul of Emma Hotchkiss. True, the exquisite Yorkshire lady is a mere sheep farmer, but she also guards a most colorful past that makes her only more appealing to the handsome, haunted lord. Emma has come to him seeking justice — and Stuart is determined that she will not leave until she has shared her secrets … and his bed. Her clever revenge scheme must fail in the face of his soft words and tender caress — and then he turns the tables on his bewitching adversary, seducing her into a daring deception of his own …

**

Published 11 years ago, this Judith Ivory novel truly stands the test of time.  The writing here is captivating.  The characters are so well fleshed out.  The romance is breathtaking.  I always enjoy a book that gives me insight into something that I didn’t know.  This book gives that insight into the minds of con artists.  Each chapter is introduced with a snippet from a fictional book, a recipe or an actual quote.  Here is my favorite:

It well may be that in a difficult hour,

pinned down by need and moaning for release

or nagged by want past resolution’s power,

I might be driven to sell you love for peace,

Or trade the memory of this night for food.

It may well be.  I do not think I would.

(Edna St. Vincent Millay, “What Love Isn’t”, Lines 9-14)

This book is going on my ‘Best of 2013” reading list and I encourage all of you HR fans to read this fabulous author.

When I read Ms Ivory’s THE PROPOSITION I knew I would be reading her entire list.  Since she has not published a book since around 2005,or perhaps earlier, I am delighted that her back list is now becoming available for e-readers.  When I tried to find out why she stopped writing the only reason I found was that she had “back trouble”.  Truly our loss.

10 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, e-reader, Historical Romance, Kindle, Romance

10 responses to “Review- Untie My Heart by Judith Ivory

  1. mo

    I loved this one when i read it last year. The scene…you know the one. It should have been wrong but it wasn’t :-).

    Like

    • You mean the one with sex on a chair with her tied up? There was all kinds of mutual consent going on there. They had rather interesting sex-capades throughout the book. It seemed the only thing she really wanted untied was her heart.

      Like

  2. Dot, I have The Proposition on my Kindle. After your praise for this new-to-me author, I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Like

    • I discovered Judith Ivory on a list of “best romance novels”. That was when I got THE PROPOSITION. I’m so impressed with her writing, her prose is first rate. I’ll continue to look for her books, it is such a shame she is no longer writing.

      Like

  3. Willa

    I love Edna St Vincent Millay . .. ! I am a Judith Ivory virgin . . will have to check her out 😀

    Like

  4. Well Dot from your review I think I will have to check her out. I have never heard of her but love trying out different authors.

    Like

    • Gayle, I have been on a mission lately to try new-to-me authors, both from the past and present. Most of the time it has been very rewarding but there have been some real let-downs also. 🙂

      Like

  5. Edyta

    I must try this author. I will get this book as my first Ivory 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

