Review-Me Before You by Jojo Moyes


Title:  Me Before You

Me before you

Genre: Literary Fiction/love story

Author: JoJo Moyes

Publisher: Penguin, Dec 2012/Jul 2013

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Rating: 4.5

Sexy Rating: 3

Description from amazon.com:

Before Louisa met Will, her plans didn’t reach beyond their tiny English town. Will, when he wasn’t closing multimillion-dollar deals, blew off steam scaling mountains, leaping from planes, and enjoying exquisite women–until an accident left him paralyzed and seriously depressed. When his mother hires Lou to keep his spirits up, he meets her awkward overtures with caustic contempt, but she’s tenacious and oddly endearing. Their fondness grows into something deeper, gaining urgency when she realizes his determination to end his life, and her efforts to convince him of its value throw her own bland ambitions into question. Plumbing morally complex depths with comedy and compassion, Jojo Moyes elevates the story of Lou and Will from what could have been a maudlin weepie into a tragic love story, with a catharsis that will wring out your heart and leave you feeling fearless. –

**

Do not start this book unless you intend to finish it in one day.  I could not put it down.  The romance is a long time unfolding which makes the actual confession of love so much more profound.  This book raises questions of euthanasia, and it does present the moral arguments for and against.  The characters presented are not always admirable but they are totally understandable even if at times we doubt them.  I thought the presentation of the trials of a quadriplegic was well done although I have limited personal knowledge with which to judge.  This book delivers laugh out loud moments as well as tears.  A wonderful book.

Note: This book, written by a British author, uses many British slang words and colloquialisms.  I did not find them difficult to understand although I had not heard many of them previously.

5 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Contemporary Romance

5 responses to “Review-Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. mo

    I feel like there’s something wrong with me because every reviewer I follow who has reviewed this book loves it. To be completely honest, i could not finish this book. I can’t even pinpoint why. It just did not engage me. I’m not sure if it was the writing or the main characters voice, it just did not work for me. I ended up flipping to the end to see what happens and the put it down.

    Like

    • Mo, Perhaps it is the catharsis with all the tears that make some of us like the book. I confess sometimes I just need a good cry. I really felt that Will was a privileged, selfish sort of guy. And I thought that Louisa was mistaking her pity for love. But I thought the plot was very realistic and so were the thoughts and emotions of the characters. Very well written. So that is my take on it, but as you know not all books are liked by each of us in the same way and I have my share of DNF’s also. I am about to read Moyes’ next book due out soon.

      Like

  2. Edyta

    Hmm I don’t have this one but I do have a book by her. You guys are making me want to give her a try to see where I fall between two of you ;).
    The synopsis makes this book sound interesting. though like you Dot, I have not had to (luckily) deal with issues like that. I may just have to get this book.

    Like

  3. Sounds good! I’ve seen so many other good reviews for this one

    Like

Leave a Reply

