Review- Ten Lords A-Leaping by C.C. Benison


Title: Ten Lords a Leaping

Ten Lords a Leaping

 Genre: Cozy Mystery

Author: CC Benison

Publisher: Delacorte Press (December 3, 2013)

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Rating: 1

Sexy Rating: 5

Christmasy Feeling: 0

Description from Amazon.com:

Although Father Tom Christmas serves his little church in enchanting Thornford Regis with a glad and faithful heart, he never expects to find himself skydiving to raise money for it. Nor, safely back on the ground, to see two of the other divers leap from the plane, then tangle in a midair punch-up and begin falling to the earth.

To say that there is tension between the men in question—Oliver, the 7th Marquess of Morborne, and his brother-in-law Hector, the 10th Earl of Fairhaven—would be an understatement. But the trouble among this ancient landed family really began a generation ago, when a marquess divorced his first spouse to marry his brother’s wife, fathering in his two marriages a viper’s nest of arrogant young aristocrats. Now they have all turned up for the show to witness this shocking event in the sky.

Thankfully the men land safely, but death will not be slighted. Much to Father Tom’s dismay, he later discovers Lord Morborne lying deceased on castle grounds. Rumors of bigamy, art forgeries, and upstairs/downstairs intrigue fly. So do whispers of unvicarly behavior between Tom and Oliver’s beautiful half-sister, Lady Lucinda. In fact, the vicar may be headed for a very hard landing of his own.

**

I don’t read many mysteries but I do like cozy mysteries and try to fit one in whenever possible.  I was excited to get to read this one but that excitement was short lived.  The beginning of the book with character intros was so confusing I thought to stop right there but I carried on until I was 50% in the book and I just gave up.  I couldn’t involve myself with any character other than Tom Christmas and I just didn’t care who killed Olly.  There is little pertaining to Christmas except for the main characters name and the title of the book. I’m sorry to have to say I could not finish this book that is why it is rated “1”.

This is not the first book I have started and set aside, but it is the first I’ve felt compelled to add to this blog.  I thought my readers should know that the title is misleading, especially since we are looking for holiday stories this time of year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Books, Mystery, Review

Leave a Reply

