Review- Kill and Tell by Linda Howard


Title: Kill and Tell

Kill and Tell

 Genre: Romantic Suspense

Author: Linda Howard

Publisher: Pocket, 2003

Source: purchase, Available from Amazon

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from Amazon.com:

Some secrets need to be told…
Still reeling from her mother’s recent death, Karen Whitlaw is stunned when she receives a package containing a mysterious notebook from her estranged father, whom she has barely seen since his return from the Vietnam War decades ago. Then, a shocking phone call: Karen’s father has been murdered on the gritty streets of New Orleans.
Even if they lead to murder….
For homicide detective Marc Chastain, something about the case of a murdered homeless man just doesn’t add up — especially after he meets the victim’s daughter. Far from the cold woman he expected, Karen Whitlaw is warm and passionate. She is also in serious danger. A string of “accidents” have shaken Karen to the core, and forced her into the protective embrace of the charming detective she vowed to resist. Together they unravel a disturbing story of politics, power, and murder — and face a killer who will stop at nothing to get his hands on her father’s secrets.

**

Let me say, right off , that for me Linda Howard is the Queen of Romantic Suspense.  This is one of my favorite L.H. books.  This was a reread for me and I loved it just as much the second time around.  Howard can weave a romance in between bullets flying and good guys hiding from bad guys.  The romance is very sexy. Our hero Marc Chastain is super Alpha and so hot he makes the pages sizzle.  Our heroine Karen Whitlaw is no wilting little flower.  She is a kick-A%$ woman who knows how to protect herself when the going gets rough.  These characters morph from two dimensional, on the page characters, to three dimensional people you know who are in the room with you as you read.  Yes, a bit scary, but that’s the artistry of Howard’s writing.  Do I recommend this book? You betcha.  You will thank me over and over again.

P.S.- When you finish this one read Howard’s CRY NO MORE.

(Deet’s confession time:  Back in December my friend M. asked me for a “sexy book to read”.  (Not so strange she should come to Moi. ) I gave her one off my shelf, another Howard book, All The Queen’s Men, but since I was having a holiday dinner with her, I decided to gift her with a copy of this book, KISS AND TELL, one of my favorite Howard books.  I did have to search around but I found a paperback copy, my own copy was misplaced.  I purchased it, brought it home and totally sat down to reread it all over again.  So she did get a very used copy. BTW she liked it too.  And it is very sexy!!)

4 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Mystery, Romantic Suspense

4 responses to “Review- Kill and Tell by Linda Howard

  1. D. B. Reynolds

    I love this book. It’s one of my all-time Linda Howard faves, and I’ve re-read it many times. I have the paperback, but now it’s on my Kindle, with all of my favorite scenes bookmarked.

    Like

  2. I have not read this book but from your review Dot this is one I have to put on my list. I have read Cry No More which was a book I couldn’t put down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

