Review- What Nora Knew by Linda Yellin


Title:  What Nora Knew

What Nora Knew

 Genre: Women’s Fiction

Author:  Linda Yellin

Publisher: Gallery Books, Jan. 2014

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: 0

Description from Amazon.com:

Molly Hallberg is a thirty-nine-year-old divorced writer living in New York City who wants her own column, a Wikipedia entry, and to never end up in her family’s Long Island upholstery business. For the past four years Molly’s been on staff for an online magazine, covering all the wacky assignments. She’s snuck vibrators through security scanners, speed-dated undercover, danced with the Rockettes, and posed nude for a Soho art studio.

Fearless in everything except love, Molly is now dating a forty-four-yearold chiropractor. He’s comfortable, but safe. When Molly is assigned to write a piece about New York City romance “in the style of Nora Ephron,” she flunks out big-time. She can’t recognize romance. And she can’t recognize the one man who can go one-on-one with her, the one man who gets her. But with wit, charm, whip-smart humor, and Nora Ephron’s romantic comedies, Molly learns to open her heart and suppress her cynicism in this bright, achingly funny novel.

**

Oh my, yes,yes,yes!!  This is so funny you will be laughing out loud and like me telling all your friends to read this book.  Molly Hallberg’s assignment from her magazine editor is to write a romantic article about people falling in love and staying in love, a la Nora Effron, says her editor.  Somehow Molly has weeks to write it but blows the article and nearly her job.  She is romantically challenged it seems.  So starts the Briget Jones  type antics and Molly continues to be clueless about love.

Linda Yellin can write wickedly witty scenes and dialog.  She captures that NYC vibe of disdain and disregard in the office and the snobby vibe of a weekend in the Hamptons, but all played for fun and laughs…for us…but not for our heroine.   Molly can’t seem to put a foot right.  Will she let her destiny be downtrodden?  We turn pages almost violently to find out if she can be saved from herself.

Oh please give yourself a treat and a lift during this snowy housebound winter and get this book.

**

(Now for a story from Deet:  Four, or maybe five, years ago I was attending a conference in Providence, Rhode Island.  I was sharing a room at a motel with my friend Cyndie and I awoke early one morning and trying not to wake her I grabbed my Kindle and headed for the breakfast room and please, Lord, coffee.  I settled myself in a chair in the already crowded room (lots of leaf peepers were up early to get some coffee before boarding their bus to see the blazing colors of Autumn). I turned on my Kindle and between sips of coffee I was reading and eating a rather crumbly blueberry muffin.  Someone said in my distracted ear, “Excuse me but how do you like it?”.  “What,” I mumbled through a mouthful of crumbs,”Do you mean the muffin?”. “No,” she laughed, “your Kindle, how do you like it?”  Well I extolled the virtues of Kindle and I think I convinced her she really would enjoy it.  Then she said to me, “you know, my daughter is an author.  Her name is Linda Yellin.  Have you heard of her?”  I apologized for being clueless about Ms. Yellin and promised to read her new book coming out the next year.  The next year I did look for Ms. Yellin’s book and decided to write her an e-mail telling her how her cute mother was on a leaf-peeper-book-promo-tour of New England and had led me to her book.  I never heard from Ms Yellin or her publisher.  I was a bit put out.  I decided not to buy the book.  Then this book, 5 years later, or maybe 4 years later was offered and I accepted to read it for review.  It”s fate I tell you.  I was meant to read Ms. Yellin’s work, one way or another, just as fate worked in her new novel.  I hope her mom is doing well, a delightful lady.)

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books

2 responses to “Review- What Nora Knew by Linda Yellin

  1. Edyta

    This one sounds cute. I’ll add it to my tbr.

    Like

Leave a Reply

