Review- The Best Man by Kristan Higgins


Title:  The Best Man (Blue Heron, book #1)

The Best Man

 Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Author: Kristan Higgins

Publisher:  Harlequin, HQN, 2013

Source: Free for review from the Amazon Vine Program

Rating: 4.5

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from Amazon.com:

Sometimes the best man is the one you least expect…

Faith Holland left her hometown after being jilted at the altar. Now a little older and wiser, she’s ready to return to the Blue Heron Winery, her family’s vineyard, to confront the ghosts of her past, and maybe enjoy a glass of red. After all, there’s some great scenery there….

Like Levi Cooper, the local police chief—and best friend of her former fiancé. There’s a lot about Levi that Faith never noticed, and it’s not just those deep green eyes. The only catch is she’s having a hard time forgetting that he helped ruin her wedding all those years ago. If she can find a minute amidst all her family drama to stop and smell the rosé, she just might find a reason to stay at Blue Heron, and finish that walk down the aisle.

**

This is my first Kristan Higgins book.  Yes, I know, I had my head in the sand but in my own defense, I was having trouble with the Contemporary Romance genre.  I kept reading books in that genre that just left me “meh” or “blah” or “good grief why?”.  Obviously, I did not read the right authors.  Because when I finished this book I immediately picked up book #2 in this series, The Perfect Match, (Don’t you just love it when there are a bunch of books in a series already written and you don’t have to wait for the next one?).  Now back to The Best Man:

Levi is alpha all the way, which is very important to Faith since she had a years long romantic relationship with a man who left her at the altar, Levi’s best friend. Levi and Faith never liked each other.  Levi thought her a rich, goody two shoes and she thought Levi just a royal PIA who ruined her wedding.  Opposites attract.

Kristan Higgins gives us a mix of laugh out loud moments along with emotional teary scenes.  Her dialog is so spot on that it is like listening to your own family argue or maybe your own inner dialog.  Faith’s delightful, if slightly dysfunctional, but more normal than not, family is well characterized and will provide protagonists for future books in the series.   Other side characters are also book worthy.  The sexual tension was pronounced between Faith and Levi although neither initially wanted to admit that there was an attraction and once acted on they were having trouble understanding how to deal with friends and family who knew.  Delightfully portrayed!

Yes, I really liked this book and the very real feeling of the characters.  The writing was terrific.  If like me you have yet to be seduced by Contemporary Romance books, then I highly recommend this book to start your affair.

Kristan Higgins Book List in Order

Fools Rush In
Catch of the Day
Just One of the Guys
Too Good To Be True
The Next Best Thing
All I Ever Wanted
My One and Only
Until There Was You
Somebody To Love *

The Best Man (Blue Heron #1)
The Perfect Match (Blue Heron #2)
Waiting On You (Blue Heron #3)
In Your Dreams (Blue Heron #4)

 

3 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books, Contemporary Romance

3 responses to “Review- The Best Man by Kristan Higgins

  1. I loved this book Dot! I read it late last year but at the time the second book wasn’t out yet. You have me wanting to re-read the book then get the second and third book which should be out or coming out this month.

    Like

    • I got the #2 & #3 books waiting for me on my Kindle. I’m trying to finish up a couple of HR’s before I get back to this series. I’m delighted to have found Kristan Higgins. I was talking to (name dropping here) Eloisa James and she also loves Higgins’ books and is a friend of hers. We had a nice chat about the books.

      Like

      • Nothing wrong with a little name dropping every now and then Dot. I really can’t wait to get my hands on the next two Kristan Higgins books but seeing my pile of books to read I figure I have some time before I can even get to the second book let alone the third. Though when my library has them available I will make the time as I really want to continue this series.

        Like

Leave a Reply

