Deet’s Reviews of 2014 RITA Nominees


rwa bannerlogo

On July 26, 2014 The Romance Writers of America held their annual awards program handing out “RITA” and “Golden Heart” awards for the best 2013 romances in several categories.  If you go to their website and nose around you can find all those who were nominated and a list of the winners.  I decided to see how many of the nominees I actually read last year and reviewed.  Here is my list:

Historical Romance

I’ve read and reviewed 8 out of the 17 novels nominated in this category.

1. The Rogue’s Proposal by Jennifer Haymore, 4-stars

2. The Luckiest Lady In London by Sherry Thomas, 5-stars

3.  Love and Other Scandals by Caroline Linden, 4-stars

4.  Duke of Midnight by Elizabeth Hoyt, 4.5-stars

5.  Darius by Grace Burrowes, 3-stars

6.  The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan, 4.5-stars

7.  Any Dutchess Will Do by Tessa Dare, 5-stars

8.  The Winner of the RITA for Historical Romance novel: No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean, 4-stars No Good Duke goes unpunished

Contemporary Romance

I actually read two out of the 18 nominated but so far have only reviewed one.  I’m saving the Sarah Morgan book for my December Christmas reviews:

1. Along Came Trouble by Ruthie Knox, 4-stars

Paranormal Romance

I only read 1 out of 13 nominations, shame on me!!! But the one that I read took home the award:

1. The winner of the RITA for Paranormal Romance novel: The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley, 5+-starsFirebird

Novella

Again I only read 1 out of the 9 nominated:

1. How to Misbehave by Ruthie Knox, 4-stars

Romantic Suspense

Now I’m sounding like a broken record, only 1 read but it was really good and it won in the category:

1. The Winner of the RITA for Romantic Suspense novel: Off The Edge by Carolyn Crane, 5-starsOff The Edge

To see what I had to say about any of these good books, just go to my search box on the left and plug in the authors name.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Books, Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance, News, Novella, Opinion, Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense

Leave a Reply

