Advance Review- How I Married A Marquess by Anna Harrington


Title: How I Married A Marquess ( The Secret Life Of Scoundrels, book #3)

How I Married A Marquess

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Anna Harrington

Publisher: Forever, April 26, 2016

Pages: 368

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: 5

Description from Amazon.com:

A SHOCKING DECEPTION . . . Josephine Carlisle, adopted daughter of a baron, is officially on the shelf. But the silly, marriage-minded misses in the ton can have their frilly dresses and their seasons in London, for all she cares. Josie has her freedom and her family . . . until an encounter with a dark, devilishly handsome stranger leaves her utterly breathless at a house party. His wicked charm intrigues her, but that’s where it ends. For Josie has a little secret . . . . . . LEADS TO AN EXQUISITE SEDUCTION Espionage was Thomas Matteson, Marquess of Chesney’s game-until a tragic accident cost him his career. Now to salvage his reputation and return to the life he loves, the marquess must find the criminal who’s been robbing London’s rich and powerful. He’s no fool-he knows Josie, with her wild chestnut hair and rapier-sharp wit, is hiding something and he won’t rest until he unravels her mysteries, one by one. But he never expected to be the one under arrest-body and soul . . .

**

The end of the SECRET LIFE OF SCOUNDRELS trilogy!! This story of Thomas and Josie is a fitting finale.  I knew from the first book in this series that I had discovered a very talented author and the three books in this trilogy certainly never let me down.

Josie has secrets that she can’t reveal and Thomas is all about finding out secrets.  At a house party they meet and there is an overwhelming attraction between them.  But Josie must guard her secret and she tries to avoid Thomas because she feels he is too good at ferreting out secrets.

There are plenty of sizzling encounters and lots of action.  There is also a well written ending to this book that I will not spoil because I know you are going to read this one until dawns early light.

Although this is certainly a standalone novel, I do suggest that you will get so much more from this book if you read the two that go before.  This book not only contains the love story of Thomas Matteson, a former spy in service to the crown, but it also features two of his fellow spies Edward and Nathaniel.  They are integral in aiding Thomas to rout the bad guy and reading that part of this book was more meaningful having read their stories in the previous two novels of the series. Therefore I suggest you treat yourself to the entire series and start at the beginning for a truly wonderful historical romance read.

The Secret Life of Scoundrels:

  1. Dukes Are Forever
  2. Along Came A Rogue
  3. How I Married A Marquess

     

7 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books Historical Romance

7 responses to “Advance Review- How I Married A Marquess by Anna Harrington

  1. Wendy Loveridge

    Lovely review, Dot. I shall now take YOUR recommendation as we so obviously, along with Carol, have similar reading tastes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of Ms. Harrington’s books that I can remember, but I love the covers of books 1 & 2. I’m not sure I like book 3’s cover. Something about the face looks off. I often read what appeals to my senses. Book 3’s cover would have not made me look twice but the description of the book may have changed my mind. I don’t get approvals for Forever/Grand Central Publishing when I have requested them at Netgalley.

    Like

    • I’m not crazy about the covers either. Seems to me not really appropriate for the era. But I can guarantee that the inside words are worth the buy. Forever, G.C. can be hit or miss so keep trying.

      Like

  3. *Thank you* so much for your review, and for everyone’s kind comments. Your support means a great deal to me. How I Married a Marquess is my favorite of the three, I have to admit. (Can I also admit that I’m hopelessly in love with Thomas??) The big/good news is that the 3 Carlisle brothers in this book have been given their own series, which will be out in 2017. They were so much fun to write. (SPOILER–Sebastian Carlisle ends up with Miranda Hodgkins!!!) I hope everyone has a great spring and a wonderful summer…and keep reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

