Interview With-D.B. Reynolds, author


D.B. Reynolds picnew 2016 (1)

Welcome to La Deetda Reads, D.B., As my followers are well aware, I have been following your Vampires In America series since the first book and have been totally hooked and now I look forward to your Stone Warriors series and The SHIFTER PLANET series. I’m delighted you can join us today so we can get to know you even better. 

  1. What (or who) inspired you to write the first VIA book RAPHAEL?RAPHAEL

I was working on another story, when a totally unrelated scene popped into my head. It was the scene that would become the opening scene of Raphael, and it was fully fleshed out, complete with the woman’s elaborate dress—the woman who would become Alexandra—the mood of the room, the piano, everything. But the key to the scene was when the petite woman says to her much larger captor, “He’ll kill you for this.” It was her complete certainty in whoever “he” was that made me want to write the book. I wanted to create a character who lived up to the woman’s confidence. And that character was Raphael.

2. Do you write from a plot outline (Plotter) or does your story unfold as you write (Pantzer)?

I write a fairly detailed outline, complete with really comprehensive character profiles. My books stay fairly true to the general outline, but I’m not wedded to it. I’m willing to take the characters in a different direction or introduce a new subplot if it fits as the story progresses.

3.Where do you write?

I do almost all of my writing in my home office, in the middle of the night, on my big comfortable chair, with Buffy on the TV, and the sound muted.

4.Do you have a guilty pleasure?

Honestly, as long as my pleasures don’t hurt anyone else, there’s nothing to feel guilty about. There are certain movies that I’ve watched over and over again, and they’re all action-adventure, and fairly violent. I love ice cream, and I always have some as a midnight snack when I’m writing. And then I climb on my elliptical to burn it off. Is the elliptical my favorite activity? Hell, no. Not even close! My favorite activity is reading. Some people can read and elliptical at the same time, but not me. I watch one of my movies or TV shows!

5. What is your favorite place to visit?

Oh, that’s a tough one. My darling husband and I have traveled all over the world, and seen some amazing cities and places. I love Paris, but then who doesn’t? It’s a beautiful city, with so much to offer. And I’d love to go back to Wales, maybe rent a cottage for six months and write a book. But probably my favorite place to visit is a beautiful hotel on the Pacific Ocean, with a room right on the sand so I can hear the waves and open the windows to the wonderful balmy air. And have nothing to do but sip tropical drinks, read a good book (or three) and sleep as long as I want.

6. What is your essential piece of kitchen equipment or gadget?

This is subject to change, and has been very different in the not so distant past, but right now, at this point in my life, my essential piece of kitchen equipment is the microwave!

7. What is your favorite way to relax?

Reading. Preferably curled up somewhere comfortable, with nothing on the schedule, and no place to be.

8. Your new series, The Stone Warriors, is debuting with the first book DAMIAN.  How many books are there to be in this series?  Will we have more of that hunky wizard, Nick, who has made an appearance in your novella, COMPELLED?

The series will be five books, one for each of the four warriors—beginning with DAMIAN—and then the final book for Nick. And, yes, Nick will appear in every book, because he’s the tie that binds all of the warriors together.

9.After DAMIAN, What comes next in the series and when can we expect it to release?

The second book in the series is teased at the end of DAMIAN (naturally!) It will be THE STONE WARRIORS: KATO, and features the second, and youngest, of Nick warriors, Kato Amadi. As for the release date, it looks like Summer 2017.

10. We are all excited about DAMIAN but those of us die-hard fans of the vampires want to know about the next book in the Vampires In America Series.

 The next Vampires in America book will be LUCIFER, and will release in November 2016. Lucifer is a very powerful vampire, who possesses a unique ability that makes him a superb hunter. Put him a trail and he never misses his prey. But this time his prey isn’t a renegade vampire, it’s Colin Murphy, and it’s not a hunt, it’s a rescue.

Thanks for being with us today D.B.!

You can get your copy of DAMIAN here:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1UtgLRr

Google: http://bit.ly/24ujsVQ

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1SXzVzL

B&N: http://bit.ly/1OnX9h2

Apple: http://apple.co/1Xo4waW

 For more about D.B. Reynolds and her books go to http://dbreynolds.com

Coming tomorrow Deet’s review of The Stone Warriors:Damian

 

4 Comments

Filed under Authors, Book review, Interview, Paranormal Romance

4 responses to “Interview With-D.B. Reynolds, author

  1. Dolores Shewey

    Loved reading this, thank you both!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m happy you stopped by and left a comment, Delores. D.B. Reynolds is a favorite of mine, I’ve been following her books for years but even I learned some new insights in this interview.

      Like

  2. Janet Rodman

    Really enjoyed your interview with DB. Thanks for asking about her upcoming books. Ms Reynolds is one of my “one click” authors. I love everything she writes. I can’t wait for Damian to come out. Love Nick and look forward to reading more of him. Lucifer, can’t wait. Thanks again for the great interview.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

