Release Day Review- A Taste of Seduction by Bronwen Evans


Title: A Taste of Seduction (The Disgraced Lords, book #5)

A taste of seduction

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Bronwen Evans

Publisher: Loveswept, Aug 16, 2016 for Kindle

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Pages: 249

Rating: 3

Sexy Rating: 5

Violence Rating: 3

Description from

Lady Evangeline Stuart chose to wed a tyrant with a title, or so society believes. That was five years ago—five long years she could have spent with her first and only love: Lord Hadley Fullerton, the second son of the Duke of Claymore. Now Evangeline is a widow, and her soul cries out for Hadley. But when they see each other at last, everything has changed. The passion in his eyes has been corrupted by betrayal. Somehow Evangeline must regain Hadley’s trust—without revealing the secret that would spoil the seduction.

Hadley is determined not to be distracted by Evangeline. He and the other Libertine Scholars are in pursuit of an enemy who has been striking at them from the shadows, and Evangeline’s mere presence could be dangerous. But with one smile, one touch, one taste of Evangeline’s lips, Hadley’s resolve is overpowered by much more pleasant memories. As the two enter into a discreet affair, Hadley vows to give her his body, never his heart. That she will have to earn.


I have read a few of the books in this series about The Libertine Scholars. Their fathers were all rogues who debauched and reveled to a total disregard of proper comportment. Someone who was set upon by their fathers is looking to destroy the sons by murder or by ruination since the fathers are all dead now. For 5 books there has been the mystery of who is the person out for revenge. In this book we discover the culprit. The running mystery has been a very interesting side to the very steamy romances of the Libertine Scholars.

In this book Hadley Fullerton is a second son who has really taken over the reins of his brother, the Duke’s responsibilities of running the estate. But then Hadley has always protected and cared for his brother. Hadley was in love with Evangeline but just as they were to elope she married a Viscount. Hadley was broken hearted and seethed with anger at her betrayal.

Evangeline was forced into her marriage with the Viscount and lived in a brutal marriage for 5 years until his death. Following his demise she and her son come to London seeking out Hadley. But Hadley is angry and not forgiving.

As much as I have liked the other two books that I have read in this series, this book was just not as interesting for me. There was plenty of action, intrigue and sexy scenes but perhaps that was just what didn’t ring true. Having Evangeline go off and decide to “shack-up” with Hadley when he , up-front, says he may marry someone else just seemed too much to believe. Or perhaps, it just made me not like Evangeline for agreeing to this scenario.

I did like that we finally get to know who the person is behind the revenge attacks.

The Distinguished Lords Series:

  1. A Kiss of Lies
  2. A Promise of More (Deet’s rating 3.5 stars)
  3. A Touch of Passion
  4. A Whisper of Desire ( Deet’s rating 4 stars)
  5. A Taste of Seduction (Deet’s rating 3 stars)
  6. A Night of Forever ( pre-order available)



Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Books Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s