Deet’s Glorious Adventure (Part 1)


I’m home from the Historical Romance Retreat that was held in Spokane, Washington at the Historic Davenport Hotel.  I Had a fabulous good time!!! The hotel was so beautiful ( I had photos on here last week and if you scroll down the blog you can see some of the ornate public rooms.) I thought for this look at the retreat I would start with my room that was fit for a queen. The bed so high I had to take a running leap to get into it.

After  a very good night’s snooze, I made my way to the registration room to be greeted by Delilah Marvelle and Renee Bernard, I was handed a tote bag crammed with paperback books, a charm bracelet with 50 charms, and a hand made folding envelope with the Retreat’s schedule.  Then I was ushered into the next room and told to help myself to more goodies off the swag table. (Who doesn’t love being showered with free goodies???)

After check-in it was time to meet fellow readers, bloggers and authors.  And it was one superstar after another.  (clockwise from left:Tessa Dare, Erin Knightly & Elizabeth Essex, Collette Cameron & Victoria Vane, Deb Marlowe (RT.), Deet and Renee Bernard.)

Not only superstars but SUPERSTARS of Romance writing and blogging. I had lunch with blogger , Carol Cork, and author, Mary Balogh ( in case you are wondering how to pronounce her name it is like Kellogg but with a “B”.) Then there is Wendy Loverage who reviews for several blogs and Carol. Wendy also was at lunch with us. This last picture gives you a good idea of the ornate architecture of the Historic Davenport.

hrr-carol-and-wendy

That first night there was a gathering so that all could get to know each other, after which we walked a half block to the Bing Crosby Theater for an old movie complete with popcorn, candy and raffle prizes.  I won the DVD of the movie which was “The Lady and The Law” with Greer Garson and Fernando Lamas.

I will have more to show and tell soon…

Here is Deet lounging in the beautiful lobby:

hrr-dot-lace

13 Comments

Filed under Authors, Book review, Books, Books Historical Romance, Historical Romance

13 responses to “Deet’s Glorious Adventure (Part 1)

  1. Dot, it was such a pleasure to meet you and reading your post and seeing the photos brings back so many wonderful memories of that fantastic weekend. I must admit that I have never been called a Superstar before!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy Loveridge

    I can’t we were on our way back this time last week, Dot! It all seems like a lovely dream. It was lovely to meet you and spend such quality time together 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Joey

    You are beautiful, as always. Love this pic. You should update your profile pic to this one. So glad you had a great time in Spokane. Love, Joey

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

