Deet’s Glorious Adventure (Part 2)


The second day of the Historical Romance Retreat in Spokane, Washington was a morning to late night affair. (For some photos of day one scroll down the blog to Monday’s post.) Day two started with Author Chats/Presentations I sat in on a panel consisting of Julia London, Katherine Bone, Valerie Bowman, Tessa Dare, Rose Lerner, Darcy Burke, Wendy LaCapra, Karen Hawkins and Jenn LeBlanc. I also played a game of Regency Charades with Karen Hawkins and Victoria Alexander. But the high light of the afternoon was  the High Tea held in the Marie Antoinette Ballroom. As you can see below the tea tables were exquisite and I can relate, delicious. The little favor boxes contained a gift from Delilah Marvelle which I’ll show you later. In the photo of me I’m wearing my take on a 1930’s outfit.

After the Tea there was free time until the 8 pm Historical Gaming Night where we played various gambling games from history.  Carol and I played Bone-Off (yes, I know that name would conjure lascivious thoughts but it was quite tame) and I did win eight or ten raffle prize entries.  Alas, I didn’t win a prize.

hrr-dot-gaming-2

The evening wound down (or revved up depending on your take) with the Absinthe and Abigail  Party, where we imbibed the drink and then along with the green fairies found our rooms for the night. Here is a photo of the gifts from Delilah Marvelle, a beautiful brooch that was in that cute favor box at Tea, and from Renee Bernard a lovely mirror compact in the shape of a rose.  The charm bracelet was in my registration goodie bag. Stay with me for the Grand Ball will blow you away in a future post.

hrr-gifts-from-d-n-r

2 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books, Deet's Life, Food, Historical Romance, History, Romance

2 responses to “Deet’s Glorious Adventure (Part 2)

  1. You looked lovely in your outfit, Dot. I’m glad you told me what card game we were playing because I didn’t have a clue! 🙄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

