Recent Release review- Hero In The Highlands by Suzanne Enoch


hero-in-the-highlands

Title: Hero In The Highlands (A No Ordinary Hero Novel, book #1)

Genre: Historical Romance

Author: Suzanne Enoch

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press, October 4, 2016

Source: Free for review from the publisher

Pages: 384

Rating: 3.5

Sexy Rating: 5

Violence Rating: 4

Description from Amazon.com:

WILD AT HEART Scotland, 1812: He’s ferocious and rugged to the bone, an English soldier more at home on the battlefield than in any Society drawing room. And when Major Gabriel Forrester learns that he’s inherited the massive Scottish Highlands title and estate of a distant relation, the last thing he wants to do is give up the intensity of the battlefield for the too-soft indulgences of noble life. But Gabriel Forrester does not shirk his responsibilities, and when he meets striking, raven-eyed lass Fiona Blackstock, his new circumstances abruptly become more intriguing. Like any good Highlander, Fiona despises the English—and the new Duke of Lattimer is no exception. Firstly, he is far too attractive for Fiona’s peace of mind. Secondly, his right to “her” castle is a travesty, since it’s been clan Maxwell property for ages. As the two enter a heated battle of wills, an unexpected passion blazes into a love as fierce as the Highlands themselves. Is Fiona strong enough to resist her enemy’s advances—or is Gabriel actually her hero in disguise?

**

I struggled to get through this book. Usually I love this authors books, but this one was difficult.  I kept setting it aside.  The problem for me was the heroine.  She was cantankerous, grouchy and altogether not very nice to the hero.  The hero, Gabriel, was at first in lust with Fiona; that I could understand.  Then he was in love with her and I couldn’t figure out why. She was totally not likable, she lied to him on many occasions and made him feel unwelcome. That is not the recipe for romance.  The side characters were often humorous and well fleshed out. The story was a good one. I do think those who like Scottish romances will like this book. Also those who can set aside some dislike of the heroine.

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Books Historical Romance, Highlanders

2 responses to “Recent Release review- Hero In The Highlands by Suzanne Enoch

  1. I’m sorry the heroine did not appeal to you.Everyone has a different opinion but I also read this book for review and loved it. I found it rather humorous at times and altogether what I have come to expect in the story line from this author who’s books I have been reading since before I even knew what an e-book was.

    Like

    • Yes, I guess I made it quite clear that this heroine rubbed me the wrong way. But I did make it clear also that the book might just appeal to someone like you. Thanks for commenting and don’t be a stranger.

      Like

Leave a Reply

