Release Day Review- The Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt


Title: Duke Of Pleasure (Maiden Lane Series, book #11)

Genre: Historical Romance/Georgian

Author: Elizabeth Hoyt

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing, Nov. 2016

Source: Free for Review From the Publisher

Pages: 337

Rating: 5

Sexy Rating: 5

Violence Rating: 5

Description from         

IN THE ARMS OF DANGER Bold. Brave. Brutally handsome. Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle, is the king’s secret weapon. Sent to defeat the notorious Lords of Chaos, he is ambushed in a London alley-and rescued by an unlikely ally: a masked stranger with the unmistakable curves of a woman.

IN THE HEAT OF DESIRE Cocky. Clever. Courageously independent. Alf has survived on the perilous streets of St. Giles by disguising her sex. By day she is a boy, dealing in information and secrets. By night she’s the notorious Ghost of St. Giles, a masked vigilante. But as she saves Hugh from assassins, she finds herself succumbing to temptation . . .

ONE KISS WILL CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER When Hugh hires Alf to investigate the Lords of Chaos, her worlds collide. Once Hugh realizes that the boy and the Ghost are the same, will Alf find the courage to become the woman she needs to be-before the Lords of Chaos destroy them both?


Elizabeth Hoyt is the Queen of Dark Historical Romance.  This book is number eleven in the series and number twelve will be arriving in 2017.  That she can continue to keep us poised on the edge of our seat and gasping as we turn pages rapidly to find out what will happen next, is attributed to her fine command of the genre and her expertly rendered prose. Once again we are treated to fabulous entertainment. There is action, adventure and sizzling sexuality. This book will leave you enthralled with these characters for days.

Hugh Fitzroy, The Duke of Kyle is a warrior. He left his unfaithful wife and two sons for 3 years and only returned when she died.  He loves his sons and is trying to erase their fear of abandonment.  He is also charged, by the King, to unearth the identities of the monstrous cult called the Lords of Chaos.

Alf, has been disguised as a boy all her life.  This is the way she has survived in the slums of St. Giles. She is clever, athletic and is known to ferret out the most secretive information. For these reasons Hugh hires her to help find out who attempted to kill him. But Hugh does not know that Alf is a woman nor does he know that she is the celebrated avenger The Ghost of St. Giles. Although Alf looks like a youth, she is a woman of twenty-one and is instantly enamored with Hugh.

“ He turned his face a fraction and then she was drawing from his mouth. Inhaling all his hurts, all his needs, all the hopes he could never dream. This Man. This man she couldn’t have for her own.”

This is a standalone book with characters from previous books in the series as well as characters introduced who will appear in the next book, Duke of Desire. This is an outstanding addition to what has become a classic series of the genre.

The Maiden Lane Series by Elizabeth Hoyt:

  1. Wicked Intentions (Temperance and Lazarus)
  2. Notorious Pleasures (Hero and Griffin)
  3. Scandalous Desires (Silence and Mickey)
  4. Thief of Shadows (Isabel and Winter)
  5. Lord of Darkness (Megs and Godric)
  6. Duke of Midnight (Artemis and Maximus)
  7. Darling Beast (Lily and Apollo)
  8. Dearest rogue (Phoebe and Trevillion)
  9. Sweetest Scoundrel (Eve and Asa)
  10. Duke of Sin (Bridget and Val)

Once Upon a Moonlit Night (e-book only, novella)

  1. Duke of Pleasure ( Alf and Hugh)

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Books Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s