Christmas Treat from Wales-Bara Brith


My fellow blogger and good friend Carol Cork gave me this recipe for a delicious fruit bread.  She blogs at http://rakesandrascals.wordpress.com  Carol resides in and blogs from Wales. This is Carol at a recent Historical Romance retreat.

carol-cork

This recipe turns out a truly scrumptious holiday treat but it will be on my table throughout the year. ENJOY!

Bara Brith  (oven 350 degrees)

1 1/2 cups mixed dried fruit, Your choice, (I used dried pineapple & dried cranberries because that’s what I had on hand)

1 cup hot strong tea

2 cups self-rising flour

1 tsp mixed spices (I used pumpkin pie spice)

1 ounce butter

8 Tablespoons brown sugar 

1 egg slightly beaten

1. pour the hot tea over the dried fruit and let it sit overnight.

2. Grease a 2# loaf pan and line with parchment paper or wax paper.

3. Sift flour, spices together (I added 1/4 tsp salt) then cut in butter until it resembles bread crumbs. Stir in sugar, then fruit mix and egg. (at this point I added 1/3 cup chopped pecans cause I like them). Stir well.

4. spread in loaf pan flattening the top.  Bake I hour. Turn out on wire rack to cool.

Eat slices slathered with butter and enjoy.

4 Comments

Filed under Book review, Food, Holiday, Recipe

4 responses to “Christmas Treat from Wales-Bara Brith

  1. Thank you so much for featuring the recipe and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the Bara Brith.

    Thank for mentioning Rakes and Rascals too. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • No need to thank me, The pleasure was mine and thanks are all for you sharing this delicious recipe. I made a second loaf this week this time with dried cranberries, nuts and candied pineapple and cherry mix. I liked the first better with just the dried fruit and not the candied fruit. But that doesn’t mean the second loaf wasn’t devoured. As for mentioning R&R, well I hope all my followers are signing up for your terrific reviews.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Patt Bell

    Looks just like the fruit bread that my grandmother used to make, that I could never find a recipe for!! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

